Time?….What’s that?

Image

The Sanctuary, Jamaica

“I just don’t have the time!”

Sounds familiar, I’m sure.

There are just not enough hours in my day!”

Deadlines, deadlines and more deadlines.

Our individual world is a harried, chaotic space. With all the technology available (costly as they are), we seem to be overwhelmed by the weight of family, professional, social, and by no lesser, our economic obligations. Whatever your pursuit, time is a commodity that is traded with sweat, frustrations and symptoms associated with stress.

You have to stop and smell the roses is a cliché that is offered as the magic potion for all ills. But somewhere in that simple statement is a promising jewel that can indeed help us regain that balance.

In pursuit of my personal equilibrium, I have decided to control my response to distractions. Distractions in my world, revolve around the consumption of information from varying media types. I am a “wired” professional, pursing higher education. Doesn’t get more crazy than that. From mobile phones to tablets with wifi support, I am a button away from distraction.

Like an addict, I am acknowledging that I am robbing myself of time that could be better spent. To address my rabid fascination with social media, I will effect the following:

  1. Remove apps. that provide the greatest distraction from my mobile phone. This opens the opportunity to control the flow of unnecessary data that is consumed during the productive hours.
  2. Increase engagement with physical beings. So much time is spent communicating via email and other modalities. Contact is limited to expressionless written queries and responses.
  3. Fall in love with the idea of being human. My phone is an android but I am not.I will engage in the simple act of saying “good morning”, with the added bonus of a smile. No need to return the favor.
  4. I will step outside and go for that walk with the sole purpose of smelling the roses.

Why am I doing this?

Because I can.

Copyright Suzette Henry-Campbell 2013

Photo Credit: SHC/2011

Location: Manchester, Jamaica, West Indies

Leave a Reply

