Social Media Frenzy

Social media has become a conduit for inaccurate news and with our appetite growing for bizarre and out of this world stories, it becomes increasingly difficult to navigate between truth and fiction. I have noticed that anything that has the freshest hint of being outrageous, is met with the click of the share button. I am guilty of that action, especially when outrageous behaviors and utterances are made by those who hold and wield power.

I have had to stop myself, literally, reposting, re-tweeting otherwise, re-telling stories that have not been grounded in fact. I need to perform the litmus test as there are many unfortunate events that go through a serious of bends and reshaping. Stories that have the potential to create conflict and tension gain much traction, because we as humans have grown beyond being responsible adults.

I decided to record my thoughts after I saw a FaceBook post by a friend about the passing of Nelson Mandela. From all media reports, I know he was ill and without validating the story, I began to comment about the passing of an icon. In mid-sentence, I stopped. Caught in the moment, I was about to express my condolences, without checking for validity. Ooops!!!

Backtracking, I sought from the author of the post, his sources. I further scoured reputable News Networks, such as the BBC. It would seem rather unlikely that for a man with such historical presence, the networks would be silent. Nothing came up on the radar.

Approximately two days later, my friend, obviously ashamed that he had participated in the sharing of inaccurate information, made amends by apologizing for his role in spreading erroneous information.

Social media and its limitless expansion to geographic locations we can only dream of visiting, certainly has its advantages. We travel vicariously through the experiences of others and as knowledge is shared, we begin to measure cultural practices against cultural practices. But as we gain knowledge, we must be prepared to discern and reject fallacies about people and what others claim are facts.

Of course, we should publicly decry events like genocide, racism, and corruption. By bringing these atrocities to the public domain, the world can, with one voice,  ensure that the behaviors that pose a threat to civil liberties, do not achieve the traction that will hurl us back to a time that has no place in our modern era.

Copyright 2013 Suzette Henry Campbell

30 Comments

  1. I’ve been surfing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

    • Thanks for your kind comment. My task is simple. I’ve been exploring how I can give back in a tangible way. On many occasions, people are looking for ideas. If one simple sentence can create an innovative thought which leads to action, then I would have accomplished “paying it forward”.

  2. I love it when folks come together and share thoughts.

    Great blog, keep it up!

    • Hi Waldorf,
      Thanks for your feedback. Through shared domains we strengthen each other.

  3. Jonathan O'Donnell

    I’m a big fan of Snopes, a site which debunks urban legends.
    http://www.snopes.com/
    When I see something that doesn’t seem quite right, I check it on Snopes. If it has been discussed, then I have an authoritative page that I can point people to.

    It isn’t useful for things that popped up yesterday, but it does work well for the more persistent urban myths out there.

    So, for example, when I look for information about Nelson Mandela, I find that CNN mistakenly published an obituary for him in 2003.
    http://www.snopes.com/humor/mediagoofs/cnnobits.asp

    Jonathan

  4. Good post however I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this subject?
    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Thanks!

  5. Greetings! Very useful advice in this particular article!
    It’s the little changes that make the largest changes. Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks for your feedback. Appreciate the kind sentiments.

  6. Fabulous, what a web site it is! This blog presents helpful data to us, keep it
    up.

    • I will certainly try. Happy readings and please share in the conversations. Really appreciate the feedback.

  7. We are a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in
    our community. Your site offered us with valuable info to work on.
    You’ve done a formidable job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

    • Thanks for sharing. This is the idea behind the blogs I write. Inspiring others to boldly try new things without the fear of failing.
      Pay it forward. 🙂

  8. When someone writes an post he/she retains the plan of a user in his/her brain that
    how a user can understand it. Therefore that’s why this post is perfect. Thanks!

    • If we think about it, sharing our diverse experiences help us to learn and appreciate each others view.

  9. Great items from you, man. I have consider your stuff prior to and you’re just extremely fantastic. I really like what you have received right here, really like what you are stating and the way wherein you are saying it. You are making it entertaining and you continue to take care of to keep it sensible. I can not wait to read far more from you. That is actually a wonderful site.

    • Thanks for your feedback. Your words have provided me with more energy to share my thoughts on a range of topics. I’ll try to keep it up! 🙂

  10. It’s going to be end of mine day, however before end I am reading this impressive article to increase my knowledge.

  11. WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by
    searching for dmca

  12. I read this article fully concerning the comparison of hottest and earlier technologies, it’s amazing article.

  13. What’s up to all, how is all, I think every one is getting more from this website, and your views are good designed for new visitors.

  14. I enjoy what you guys are usually up too. This kind of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the good works guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll.

  15. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess
    I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips and hints for first-time blog writers? I’d genuinely
    appreciate it.

    • Success is what you make it. I would say that if you have a story to share and you love to write, blogging provides the means of doing so. The question you should ask is, “what is it that I hope to achieve by blogging?” The response to that question will set the tone for your future writings. Happy writing!!

  16. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my
    social networks!

    • Thanks for your feedback. Hope you continue to read and share your own thoughts.

  17. These are really fantastic ideas in on the topic of blogging.
    You have touched some good things here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  18. superiorsingingtips.wordpress.com

    These are really enormous ideas in about blogging.
    You have touched some pleasant things here.
    Any way keep up wrinting.

  19. It’s genuinely very difficult in this active life to listen news on Television, so I only use internet for that purpose, and obtain the newest information.

  20. Hello, after reading this awesome post i am also delighted to share my experience here
    with friends.

  21. pinterest

    I have been exploring for a little for any high-quality
    articles or blog posts on this kind of house . Exploring in Yahoo
    I eventually stumbled upon this web site. Reading this info So
    i am happy to show that I’ve a very good uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I most indubitably will make certain to don?t put out of your mind this web site and give it a glance regularly.

Leave a Reply

